The Upside Of Unrequited || REVIEW

Author: Becky Albertalli

Series: Standalone

Published On: 11th April 2017

Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary

Format: E-ARC

Source: Netgalley

Amazon || Goodreads

Seventeen-year-old Molly Peskin-Suso knows all about unrequited love—she’s lived through it twenty-six times. She crushes hard and crushes often, but always in secret. Because no matter how many times her twin sister, Cassie, tells her to woman up, Molly can’t stomach the idea of rejection. So she’s careful. Fat girls always have to be careful.

Then a cute new girl enters Cassie’s orbit, and for the first time ever, Molly’s cynical twin is a lovesick mess. Meanwhile, Molly’s totally not dying of loneliness—except for the part where she is. Luckily, Cassie’s new girlfriend comes with a cute hipster-boy sidekick. Will is funny and flirtatious and just might be perfect crush material. Maybe more than crush material. And if Molly can win him over, she’ll get her first kiss and she’ll get her twin back.

There’s only one problem: Molly’s coworker Reid. He’s an awkward Tolkien superfan with a season pass to the Ren Faire, and there’s absolutely no way Molly could fall for him. Right?


My Rating


My Review

Okay so let me start by saying this. I am officially in love with Becky Albertalli. First, simon vs the homosapiens agenda, which was incredible. Then the upside of unrequited. Which has somehow turned out to be even more incredible. After reading simon vs I knew I wanted to read anything by this author. So when I saw this book on netgalley I immediately requested it, and imagine my surprise when I actually got approved for it!

 

I didn’t know much about the plot before going into it because I really wanted to just read it with no preconceived ideas. I think if you have read simon vs. and liked it then you’d love this as well, if not more. Which is the case with me. I can’t really pinpoint exactly what I loved about it but I think it was just so much more impactful than I ever imagined it would be.  

 

I need to mention the main character Molly.  Molly is ‘fat’ as she would say and honestly, every time she spoke about her weight I just related to her so much. The best thing was she wasn’t unhappy with herself necessarily, she was just concerned about how other people saw her. And I get that so much!!! I really feel like this book taught me a lot about self confidence. 

 

To me this is a story about growing up, finding first love and family. I loved Molly’s family and friends. They were all so incredible and I felt like every one of them helped Molly through her struggles in someway. Then there’s Reid. I won’t say too much but what a cutie, I love him. A lot of the time I don’t like love interests but recently I’ve been swooning over a lot. What has come over me?
Honestly, this has been a pretty incoherent review, which seems to be the case a lot when I really love a book. I can’t help it. There’s just something amazing about this book and I am completely in awe of Becky Albertalli and her writing. I will 100% read anything she writes from this point forward. I highly recommend this, to everyone!

So have you read this book yet? Or simon vs? Are you obsessed with Becky Albertalli as much as I am? Let me know!

17 thoughts on “The Upside Of Unrequited || REVIEW

  1. I’ve heard nothing but great things about this book and how cute and wonderful it is, so I am so glad to see you enjoyed it so much too! Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    P.S. I love the new site – it looks amazing! xD

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh yes I agree with all of this! When Simon came out and I read and loved it I couldn’t even wait to get my hands on this one and the day it came out, I read it, loved it and now I just have to wait for Becky to release more 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah I think it’s a bit of an unpopular opinion to like this one more than simon vs but I think I just related to Molly more! I still absolutely adored simon vs though, don’t get me wrong! Thank you! I hope you enjoy this one when you read it!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I read this a few weeks ago and it really is brilliant, isn’t it? I’ve not read Simon yet but it’s making me far more excited to start that. I think the premise of this one appealed far more to me that Simon did which is probably why I’ve not read it yet but I’ll see how it goes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah. I think the reason I liked this book slightly more than Simon vs was because I felt like I related to molly way more than Simon! Don’t get me wrong I still loved Simon, but something about Molly and her Pinterest diy’s just called to me 😍

      Like

  4. Oh my gosh YES. Becky Albertalli is one of my favourite authors everrrrrrr and I adored both Simon vs and this book SO MUCH I can’t even express how much I love them haha. I will read and buy anything Becky Albertalli writes, honestly. Lovely review, so glad to see you loved this!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Beautiful review! 🙂 I haven’t read this one yet but I loved Simon vs. So, so much and I keep hearing wonderful things about that one. I can’t WAIT to get around to it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I NEED TO READ THIS ONE! Seriously, ever since I read Simon vs I’ve been meaning to get this one on my Kindle so I can read it ASAP but then I’ll get distracted by another book. I’m so about to go download it after having read your review. Especially since you said you loved it even more than Simon vs. Here’s to hoping I love it just as much. Great review as always, Kirsty!! 😊💕

    Like

  7. I just finished reading this one too, and I totally agree with everything you’ve said here- I loved it even more than I did Simon too. Argh. Can’t wait for the author’s next already!

    Ruzaika @ The Regal Critiques

    Like

    • I’m so glad you liked it more than Simon vs as well. I was starting to think I was the only one 😂! I just related to Molly a lot more than Simon. I can’t wait for her next book either, I NEED MORE❤️

      Like

Leave a comment